Sewing

Bookreview: grains de couture by Ivanne Souflet

Je ziet de cover en zal waarschijnlijk wel denken; een Frans naaiboek!? Waarom kies je niet voor een Nederlandse? Wel, eerst en vooral omdat ik toch wel een beetje Frans kan, al heb ik de indruk dat sinds mijn jaren op de universiteit dit serieus is geminderd. Ondervinden jullie dit ook? Ten tweede omdat er nog geen vertaling van is, en als laatste omdat dit gewoon een fantastisch boek is, en wel om deze redenen:
You can see the cover and probably will think;  a French sewing book !? What?! Why not choose for a Dutch one ? Well, first of all because I learned French during highschool (Belgium), though I have the impression that since my college years this has seriously decreased. Secondly, because there isn’t a translation yet , and finally because this is just a fantastic book, for these following reasons:

 

Er zijn vele modellen in voor zowel mannen en vrouwen. Voor kinderen heb je een aparte versie.
There’re lots of models for women and even men. The children have their own version.

 

 

Het blousje Diamond met een originele halslijn en schoudermotief.
The blouse Diamond with an orignal neckline and shoulder.

 

 

Geweldig los zittend blousje; ideaal voor de opkomende zonnestralen 😉
An awesome loose-fitting blouse, ideal for this sumemrish weather 😉

 

 

Perle de nacre:  Do I need to say more?

 

 

Ook bij de mannen vind je leuke patronen, al heb ik deze nog niet getest.
Also the men can wear some pretty stuff too, I didn’t test them yet.

 

 

Trui + een basis t-shirt die je altijd kan gebruiken
A sweater + a basic tee: will always come handy

 

 

Op het einde vind je een soort technische achtergrond, niet echt uitgebreid.
Het enigste nadeel van dit boek vind ik de uitleg + de tekeningen. Je moet echt al een gevorderde naaister zijn om alles te begrijpen met de beperkte uitleg en tekeningen, hoewel je achteraan een technische uitleg krijgt…
At the end you will find a kind of technical background, not really extensive tough.
The only disadvantage of this book is the explanation + drawings. You really need to bee an experienced seamstress to understand everything with the limited explanations and drawings, although you will get back a technical explanation …:

Mijn creatie uit het boek:/ My creation from the book: Robe opale

more pics:

Ik zou elke naaister met enige ervaring het boek willen aanraden, omdat het eens alternatieve patronen geeft. Niet de typische A-lijntjes, klokrokken,.. maar echt uitdagende en originele kledij.
Het boek kan je bestellen via amazon.
meer info over de schrijfster vind je hier:
Ga jij het boek kopen of heb je een aanrader voor mij? Laat het me zeker weten! Tips kan ik altijd gebruiken.
I would recommend the book to every seamstress with some experience because it gives some great alternative patterns. Not the typical A-lines, skirts .. but really challenging and original clothing.
The book you can order through Amazon.
more info about the author can be found here:
 
Are you going to buy the book or do you have a recommendation for me? Let me know for sure! Tips I can always use.
Lots of love,
3 gedachten over “Bookreview: grains de couture by Ivanne Souflet

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment! I really appreciate it :) I will do my best to answer every single one of them ;) ♥ Lien

